Kondismedlem Sponset innhold

Race report

Race report
Spørsmål: Hva er den beste treningen for å vinne et internasjonalt kvalitets-race?
Svar: Løp gjennom halve Europa uten pause - ikke hvil før (eller etter) løpet.
Det er hva Aleksander Korotkov og Jesper Olsen gjorde - med stor suksess. Tero Töyrylä har sendt oss rapport fra løpet - se nedenfor
Korotkov and Okiyama dominated the run in the parking hall

Report by Tero Töyrylä
The Worldrunner Aleksander Korotkov really surprised everybody in Lohja 12 hour race in a parking hall of a supermarket. After taking it easy for the first four hours or so, he suddenly started to run very fast laps. Jesper Olsen, the other one of the Worldrun duo, and Ari Mustala were leading the race at the time and Korotkov was far behind. But the Russian was going to take the lead if he could maintain his superior speed. 

But I don’t think many of us believed Korotkov could do it. After all, he was on his way around the world with 50 kms or so day after day. And he had not allowed himself any extra rest for the competition.

To be honest, I almost felt sorry for Aleksander. I was the one who had talked Jesper and Aleksander to enter the event. Now I though I was there witnessing what looked like a definite suicide pace. I was afraid Korotkov and Olsen would jeopardize the success in their Wordrun project because of such an intensive racing.

Aleksander never faded out. He went on to win the race with a huge margin of over 6 kms to Ari Mustala, the Finnish record holder in 12 hours with 145,003 km. Korotkov covered 140,984 km on a tightly-curved 242 meter concrete track.

Jesper Olsen took it a bit easier in the later part of the race, occasionally showing his great speed with really fast running. He finished fourth in men’s competition with 129,351 km.
Ahead of Olsen and fourth in compined results list was the best female, japanese runner Hiroko Okiyama. She chased very hard the mark of 135,318 km run by Eleanor Robinson in 1990, which is the best known female performance indoors, also run on oversized track.

The always smiling Japanese runner finally had to contend to 131,542 km, which fell short of the record but was a great performance. Maria Tähkävuori of Finland was second female bettering her own Finnish record by more than three kilometres with 116,996 km.

The race with 20 participants and hundreds of sheering spectators turned out to be a very special one, with very intimate athmosphere. The accoustics of the parking hall made it sometimes sound like there were thousends of people applouding and shouting. 

The Worldrunners went on with their journey the day after the race. The first few kilometers they felt and looked a bit stiff, but soon were back to normal routine, running positively and focused. Today they run from Loviisa to Hamina and tomorrow from Hamina to Virojoki. Then they start their long trip accross Russia.

The duo has made a really great impact on all the Finnish people being involved when the’ve been here. Their high spirits, determination, joyfullness and positive attitude really makes us all believe they will succeed in their journey. Actually, we already made some plans for the ”second lap” of the Worldrun. Then we definately want them to stay with us a bit longer!

(Sorry, I did not have splits times available for more exact information. Note that Jari Lehtonen’s final result is not correct in the results list, his final result is approximately 126,7 km.)

Results (submitted by Jarno Leinonen)


1. Aleksander Korotkov        140 km 984 m 78 cm
2. Ari Mustala                134 km 767 m 38 cm
3. Tero Töyrylä                132 km 784 m 26 cm
4. Jesper Olsen                129 km 351 m 16 cm
5. Peeter Vennikas        128 km 987 m 42 cm
6. Jari Lehtonen                126 km 702 m 22 cm
7. Johnny Granqvist        119 km 948 m 60 cm
8. Petri Lietzen                119 km 834 m 40 cm
9. Marko Silventoinen        118 km 596 m 90 cm
10. Janne Kankaansyrjä        116 km 038 m 96 cm
11. Seppo Leinonen        115 km 553 m 68 cm
12. Pertti Gustavsson        113 km 968 m 94 cm
13. Arto Ahola                108 km 532 m 22 cm
14. Ari-Pekka Päivinen        107 km 048 m 08 cm
15. Kalevi Montela        106 km 542 m 20 cm
16. Olavi Montela        101 km 500 m 36 cm
17. Ari-Pekka Julkunen        101 km 008 m 53 cm


1. Hiroko Okiyama        131 km 542 m 87 cm
2. Maria Tähkävuori        116 km 996 m 22 cm
3. Anne Heinonen        62 km 13 m 44 cm